The Robert Erith National Landscape Award

The Robert Erith National Landscape Award aims to recognise and highlight the achievements of individuals, groups and organisations that have made an outstanding contribution to conserving and enhancing the Dedham Vale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and Stour Valley.

The Award

The first award was presented in 2021 to Geoffrey Probert for his outstanding work in expanding and energising the Stour Valley Farmer Cluster and promoting conservation & biodiversity on a landscape scale.

In 2022, Adrian Silvertown was awarded the honour in recognition of his incredible work creating a bespoke field survey app as part of the Hedgerow Heroes Project, funded by CPRE, the Countryside Charity, and delivered locally by Suffolk Preservation Society and the Stour Valley Farmer Cluster.

Award winners will receive a framed copy of a linocut print created by local artist, Jem Seeley, and produced by Drab Ltd featuring the Dedham Vale AONB’s iconic species, the Hazel Dormouse.

Why is it important to do this?

It is important to recognise the hard work and amazing contributions that people are making to improve the AONB, so it is better for wildlife, communities, and visitors. The recognition of this annual award will hopefully inspire others to get involved in the Dedham Vale AONB and Stour Valley to ensure its outstanding landscape, wildlife, heritage, and culture is protected for all to enjoy.

Criteria for Nomination

Whether an individual, organisation or group, anyone can be put forward for the award if they have made an outstanding contribution to the AONB. Achievements could include community projects that have benefited nature, volunteers who have inspired others, unsung heroes deserving recognition, or groups that have engaged people with the landscape. All nominations are welcome!

Please note any work or achievements put forward to support a nomination must have been carried out within the AONB.

How will the Award process work?

Nominations can be made throughout the year up until the 31st January 2023 closing date.The winner will be chosen from the nominations received, decided by a panel of judges including the AONB Joint Advisory Committee Chair and a representative from the AONB staff team.

The Award winner will be confirmed and announced in March 2023 with the Award recipient presented with the award at an event, with the date to be confirmed.